ext_260354 ([identity profile] redhot.livejournal.com) wrote in [community profile] paixaoooc2006-03-22 02:41 pm

How's my driving? ANONYMOUS COMMENTARY

As a new week approaches us, it is a good time to make adjustments or improvements accordingly! This means I'm going to have another anonymous commentary post!

Questions? Comments? Complaints? This is your chance to tell us, the moderators! Post them all here, anonymously (IP loggging and screening is off), and me and the rest of the mods will discuss whatever with you, be it story line ideas, concerns, etc. Feel free to tell us what you like about the game too, so we might be able to know what we're doing right. :)

Have at it, chickies!

[identity profile] sheer-cold.livejournal.com 2006-03-22 08:58 pm (UTC)(link)
I actually don't have any complaints. xD It's all good over here.

But yeah, people do need to stop idling in the chats. Normally, I don't care about copy and pasting links since I do that anyway, but it sucks when you post Deviant art links cuz then they don't work >_< fdskhuiweh.

As for actual... game performance... I have no complaints. XD Everything looks good and we got plenty of places to go. And yeah. That's it from me. XD

Vexen: I think we need to be more respectful to the elderly here though! I try to walk across the street and instead of helping an old man across the street, those damn kids point and laugh until I threaten them with the piss bag! KIDS THESE DAYS. DAMN WANKERS.

[identity profile] mother-crapper.livejournal.com 2006-03-22 09:13 pm (UTC)(link)
I agree with the above poster, goddammit! What the HELL is the matter with this @#$^ing KIDS today?!

Don't look now, peaches

[identity profile] alone-by-choice.livejournal.com 2006-03-22 11:14 pm (UTC)(link)
But unless someone runs out into the street after Riku (who just left the hotel to get food for everyone), he is going to be ALONE on Friday afternoon.

Bring your pissbag. It'll be loads of fun.

[identity profile] alone-by-choice.livejournal.com 2006-03-23 03:29 pm (UTC)(link)
Oops, false alarm. I didn't count on Sora being so clingy. XD
Sorry.

[identity profile] sheer-cold.livejournal.com 2006-03-24 01:40 am (UTC)(link)
HAHAHA, good, because I totally missed this comment lmao. xDDD

<< >> I can be patient. I think.

[identity profile] alone-by-choice.livejournal.com 2006-03-24 03:48 pm (UTC)(link)
D'oh!
I'm trying. I really am. <<
Maybe we should IM more about this over the weekend.

(Anonymous) 2006-03-22 09:29 pm (UTC)(link)
People keep getting left behind in the timeline while faster-posting people move ahead, forcing the slower posters to make inconvenient, and sometimes inexplicable, jumps forward just to stay in the same general timeframe as everyone else. Even then, someone on Monday may find themselves needing to make their way over to meet someone who's on Thursday and then everything is confused.

Two possible solutions to this:

1) Rather than speeding UP the game by jumping ahead by weeks, it could be slowed down - put EVERYONE on the same day, and have everyone move forward to the next day at the same time. It's much slower but there would be less confusion all around.

2) Stop putting emphasis on the timeline at all. If people stopped specifying what day of the week they're on, then there would be no particular need to figure out who was on what day - all that would really matter would be the time of day (or night) that the characters are interacting in. Even in-game weather posts could be made general - "OKAY GUYS, it's snowing now! It will continue to do so until we say otherwise, so your characters may want to find shelter or coats or both!"

Also, I think maybe a weekly post notification of new people arriving/old people leaving should be made by the mods, just to have it all in one place. It'd make it easier for people to go through and friend/defriend the journals accordingly.

(Anonymous) 2006-03-22 09:42 pm (UTC)(link)
I agree with the person who posted above me. The timelines get uber confusing. One thing I would like to suggest is that when people post on the MB comm that they also add in a tag or something that says when they posted. I see all sorts of time loops there. People post to threads in the future! (Also happens with personal journals, but there's more freedom there, I guess.)

Less emphasis on the time, definitely! Closing a day before everyone's finished with it isn't always appropriate. Someone should watch the tags, and when a certain day stops being posted on (all tagged entries of a day read closed), then time should move forward and the day be closed. And someone should monitor old threads that still haven't been closed so that everything is coherent and up-to-date.

I probably would be with the people waaay ahead in time, since I'm aaaalways online, but RP partners aren't always speed demons and I have to work with what I have. I don't see those new posting reqs being enforced, so I say drop 'em. Or nudge people who are lagging.

Maybe there should be more mods because I see little things that can be fixed here and there, like people missing titles or labels in their entries. Half the time I want to go in there and fix it myself. And maybe more people can contribute to the NPCs. I see NPC requests (like Morrigan's most recently) that go unfulfilled.

The good thing is that we're allowed as many characters as we can handle. MEGA KUDOS to that!! The head mod tends to pick up a lot, so I know that if I want more too, it's fair enough that I'll have the chance to have them.

(Anonymous) 2006-03-23 01:05 am (UTC)(link)
Vincent needs to get sexed more often. That is all.

(Anonymous) 2006-03-24 03:40 am (UTC)(link)
I second this.

(Anonymous) 2006-03-23 01:07 am (UTC)(link)
Ok I don't see the need for the recap summaries whenever you finish a thread. I mean, it really feels like homework. I know I never check other people's progress, do the mods? If they do then I'll have no problem with it, but if they don't maybe a better sytem could be worked out.

(Anonymous) 2006-03-23 08:59 am (UTC)(link)
it is going to be so obvious who this comment is from, haha!

well, anyway, about the speed of the timeline. I don't think it needs to be slowed down.. hell, I often wish it would go FASTER. taking like two months for an ic week makes me antsy. I know some people can't get on to post very often, but at the same time, this is a fast-paced game. it's not fair to them to be left behind, but it's also not fair for faster people to get dragged down. it's also not the mods fault if someone is stuck in a thread because one of the players is being slow-- the storyline doesn't need to slow down for them, I figure it's a responsibility of the players caught up in it to give the person a prod to get going, too. the best solution I can come up with is maybe speed the day changes up a little, but keep the old ones open for a bit longer? I'm not sure if there's a set rate now or what, either way, I'm sure something could be figured out..

another thing that's been sort of bugging me is how closed off the storyline seems sometimes. I know it's supposed to be very org-centric and such, but I get bothered by now unincluded other charatcers are. I've been thinking of a few ways to use my character to perhaps get some of the less involved people drawn in more, but that all depends on how the storyline goes.. speaking of, it's been getting fairly wild, I think I might be the only one opposed to more nobodies for the time being. D: there's other things we could work with, and I'm really not sure where it's going or much about it, so that's another reason why I'm all 'ehh' at it. too many nobodies are a bad thing anyway, though, imo.. there are already two that the org should be having a total hissy over since they're worse-than-neophyte-hybrids, and now there's a third.. THING about to be thrown into the mix. I just see it as being able to spiral out of hand really easily, and already I wonder if some of it might be too 'oc' or whathaveyou..

also, umm.. more lumen action would be peachy, that can possibly worm its way into some plans I need to toss out on the table.. as someone else said, more npc action would be good. maybe appoint two people or so to strictly handle them? or something like that.

what else.. look at all this crap, lmfao.

I like having the days outlined.. and also the weather and such, because I'm an organized freak like that. I think it makes things less confusing, actually. without them, I always wonder about consistancy or if I'm on the same in-game day as other people, blahblah. I vote to keep those, for realz..

and it is now three in the morning, so I forgot what else I was going to say for now..

(Anonymous) 2006-03-26 06:20 pm (UTC)(link)
i apoligise for the random ness, but i must.

SQUEEEE! DISNEY VILLIANS!

thank you for your time.

[identity profile] aensland-love.livejournal.com 2006-03-23 05:38 pm (UTC)(link)
The time/days thing doesn't really bother me at all. I'd rather you keep it how it is, or slow it down some if you must, than to speed it up.

I would also like it if there were more Organization members interacting and getting involved with the other non-org/KH people, sort of like you've done with Axel. And if it's experimenting they want to do, then I wholeheartedly volunteer Morrigan. More Lumen happenings would be nice too.

This next one is more of me being nitpicky, but I would like it if any changes in Paixao (like Ecos Na Cathedral area being being closed off) where mentioned somewhere in the user info rather than having to go through the Event Summary thread. The same would go for adding a description of the Savage Garden. But I really haven't been keeping up with that, so I don't know what you or the others have planned for it.

The thing about applications being closed in the Extensive Info page should probably be removed or altered. :x

Other than that... nope, I'm good here. Everything's pretty well organized and structured. :D

[identity profile] synthesize.livejournal.com 2006-03-23 07:16 pm (UTC)(link)
I've been wondering if maybe we need to start altering the map, as well; the layout has changed since the start of the game. It hasn't changed much, but there are differences(like the ruined block of town, the Fortress outside the domes, and Cid's shop). Just to sort of go along with the "keeping track of the changes in Paixao" thing.

[identity profile] synthesize.livejournal.com 2006-03-23 07:25 pm (UTC)(link)
We ♥ you Ang. :D

[identity profile] extantsoul.livejournal.com 2006-03-23 07:39 pm (UTC)(link)
I still have the original PSD with all the layers I did for gridding, so if you want that, poke me~ I don't have the letters/numbers though, since someone else did that, but I could add it. :X

(Anonymous) 2006-03-23 09:51 pm (UTC)(link)
I think the first poster had a really good idea about taking emphasis off the timeline by day of the week. It sounds funky, but that's one solution that would allow people on different days to interact with one another, which is becoming more and more of an issue lately.

Obviously, some events happen before others, but there are many threads separated by days that could conceivably have happened on the same day of the week.

If you don't like this idea, I really do think we need to come up to a solution to this problem. There are loads of characters I'd like to interact with but can't because they're on different days from mine.

[identity profile] i-hate-quakes.livejournal.com 2006-03-24 06:51 am (UTC)(link)
I am too lazy to sign out, and it's not like I'm sayin' anything bad anyway. XDD

So yeah. I like the current setup we have with the timeline, though I don't like the idea of forcing people to go faster. It's getting harder for me to keep up at times, and I really really DON'T want to get lost in a sea of threads and comments. Granted... I kind of made Cid a bigger character than I was really expecting, but I am pleased that I'm involved, and I'm not complaining about activity...

But pushing the action forward seems like a bad idea to me, and I don't want to lose people who may be stuck on dial-up or may have limited internet access due to school, parents, work, or other factors.

There are also people who have a more structured style of RPing than this game usually depends upon--some people take turns, which is why some of the threads are going so slow. I can respect this idea just as much as the 'come on in and get your freak on when you can!' style of posting, but I can understand how it might be difficult for some to keep up.

So yeah. Uh, in all, that's really all I gotta say. I do admit that at times the different days can be a bit difficult to cope with if you really want to interact with a certain character who's behind/ahead of you, but I do like it.

For example--if we didn't focus on the day, we'd have a hell of a time right now with AntiX. He just went through and slaughtered alot of the center of Paixao, during a time when Cid and his group would've been off molesting Hojo in his fortress and rescuing his hostages. If the time had not been specefied, we probably would've been caught up in that and delayed our departure to

In all, I think not emphasizing the time will make things more difficult for everyone in the end. Honestly, I don't pay much or any attention to the tags at all, so I'd be very lost in the timeline. Plus it makes it more structured and easy for someone like me to figure out.

So yeah. Essentially, I like the setup now. Even if we have to jump around a bit at times.